Austin Divorce Attorney

Our family law attorneys and lawyers are there to walk our clients through very difficult and stressful times

Family Guidance

The objective and philosophy in handling divorce cases is geared towards the client’s best interest with the utmost care

Teamwork

Our goal is to provide the highest quality legal services to our clients at reasonable rates

Divorce

We have experience lawyers in different expertise for more than 5 years. We help you to find justice!

Child Custody

Assure that children will have frequent and continuing contact with parents

Property Distribution

Income or property acquired during the marriage is deemed to be divided in right manner

Seeking GUIDANCE?

Our team has expertise in family law, criminal cases, and personal defenses
TALK TO OUR EXPERT
No Comments

What To Expect When Facing Drug Trafficking Charges

Anytime someone gets a drug trafficking charge it is considered by most to be on a higher level than just being charged for drug dealing. On the books, California law does not differentiate between the two charges but most of those in law enforcement do. Prosecutors, judges and of course the police consider someone who has been given a charge of trafficking as someone who is significantly involved in the drug trade and therefore warrants such a high-level charge.

When someone is doing more than just exchanging drugs and money, this is when they are charged with trafficking. If they are dealing in very large quantities, or they are involved in the transportation of those drugs across borders, or if they are involved in laundering money or manufacturing the drug, all of these can play a part in the greater charge of trafficking.

Anytime someone is involved in transporting drugs from another state into California, or from other countries, they will typically use networks for doing so. Law enforcement in-turn incorporates the help of several agencies that all work together in seizing the drugs and making arrests. Together the local law enforcement authorities along with state and federal agencies have worked together and they have concluded that the counties of Riverside, Orange, Los Angeles, and San Bernardino are the main areas in California with a high density of drug trafficking. Agents of law enforcement work together to bring down the transportation and pipelines that help bring drugs in, such as catching mules or meth labs.

Selling Large Quantities

If someone is convicted of selling any hard drugs like hydrocodone or oxycodone or if they are involved in the sale of heroin or cocaine, then they can receive up to five years in prison under California statutes. Selling drugs such as GBS and ketamine or methamphetamine can result in getting 4 years in prison. If the amount of the drugs exceed a kilogram, this will result in stiffer sentencing.

For every kilogram, the maximum sentence can be increased by 3 years. These increases can go up to 25 years for situations involving over 80 kilograms. As well as the other drugs mentioned, the sale of PCP or methamphetamine can also lead to sentencing being increased when the amount exceeds a kilogram. 20 kilograms can result in a 15-year sentence above the maximum.

Transportation And Importation

California law stipulates that when drugs are transported from one place to another it is a felony charge. Even simply taking it from your neighbor’s house back to your’s next door is enough to receive a felony charge. If convicted you can receive up to 5 years for that crime. If someone is found guilty of taking those drugs across more than one county in California, then they can receive up to 9 years.

Bringing drugs in from another country is a very serious crime. If it involves large quantities it’s even more serious. These crimes carry a mandatory minimum of 10 years in prison. If you are convicted of taking in higher quantities you could receive a life sentence.

Drug Conspiracy

Anytime someone agrees to participate with another person to sell, transport, or distribute any type of illegal drug, they can be charged with a crime of conspiracy. They don’t actually have to follow through and do anything in order to be convicted. California law allows for the charge of ‘minor involvement’ in such a situation.

California has a number of enhanced penalties whenever there are large amounts of drugs involved. In addition to the ability to charge a man with minor involvement, if they are found to be more involved in activities such as financing, planning, transportation or other responsibilities for the sale of large quantities of drugs, then the enhanced penalties can be used.

No Comments

Burglary Defense Lawyers. Do You Really Need One?

Image result for defense lawyer

Often individuals wind up in trouble trying to make ends meet. They think that burglarizing a home is an easy way to make some much needed cash. If this is you, the first thing you have to do is locate a certified defense attorney to help you avoid serious penalties. However, where will you look? Should you depend on the court-appointed defense attorney as YOUR defense attorney? According to mycaliforniadefenseattorney.com, accepting a public defender for a burglary charge might as well be a kiss of death.

There is a chance you are not actually guilty for what you are being charged, who has the best chance of keeping you out of jail? Regardless of if a criminal activity or misdeed was in fact made or otherwise, it is still vital to have a defense attorney doing their best to assist you and get a reasonable sentence.

Most defense attorneys have experience handling all types of cases. You want a specialist. You don’t want some guy fresh out of law school who practices personal injury, especially if you are innocent. There are lots of people who are in the wrong place at the wrong time and end up getting in serious trouble. Some people make the mistake of trying to take the blame for their friend. No matter what the situation is, settling for a public defender is going to put you at a serious disadvantage. A public defender doesn’t have the time needed to give you and your case the attention they deserve, and uncover all of the possible actions that can be taken to ensure your rights are protected. In severe instances like drug criminal offenses, you could find yourself facing much more serious charges than you had anticipated. There are lots of resources online, you don’t have to hire us. Do a Google search and find out what the penalties are for your offense.

Related image

A lot of people are worried about how they are going to pay for an attorney, and how much that attorney will cost them in the end. All I can say is, how much will it cost you if you DON’T hire an attorney? Can you afford to spend years in jail or prison? That will you depend do the most effective they can to assist you to leave this circumstance? The defense attorney is offered in every state. However, when you do unknown anybody, should you merely just open up the telephone directory as well as choose a defense attorney? You would certainly not really feel secure with your option in a defense attorney in this manner.

Regardless of what the scenario, whether it is drug criminal offenses or another criminal fofense, you owe it to yourself to find out how much a defense attorney can help you and what you need to do to avoid making your situation worse. Finding a great attorney is harder than it sounds; there are plenty of lawyers out there advertising themselves as the best. Take your time in researching lawyers and make sure you find one with a strong history of success. Don’t walk into a courtroom with a public defender and think you’re going to easily be able to avoid your charges. There are plenty of options out there and anyone facing a burglary charge needs to make sure their rights are protected.

No Comments

Domestic Violence Laws and The Things You Need to Know

Domestic violence or abuse under penal code 273.5 is a common problem. Though victims don’t normally come out and publicly speak about it, it happens every day. In fact, according to domestic-violence-law.com, 22% of women have experienced domestic violence in her lifetime. This is alarmingly high and it has to stop. Domestic violence laws are implemented to help the victims and empower them to report their abusers. Reporting the abusers will help stop the rising numbers of victims of domestic abuse and violence.

What qualifies as domestic abuse?

Any form of physical, verbal, emotional, economic or sexual abuse from your intimate partner to you or your children (if any) is punishable under the Violence Against Women Act or VAWA. This is the law implemented in 1994 in response to issues regarding domestic violence and abuse. In 2000 VAWA was expanded in order to cover crimes regarding dating violence and stalking. Immigrant victims were also given visas that allow them to stay in the US. Further steps to help the victims were also implemented. In 2013, housing protection and federally subsidized housing were also expanded to provide the much needed help for victims.

People in abusive relationships don’t often realize that they are being abused. They are often so “in love” that they make excuses for when they are violated by their spouse or intimate partners. Often, they only report domestic abuse and violence when the harm done to them is so severe that they have to seek medical help. But that does not have to be the case.

What should you do if you are a victim of domestic abuse and violence?

The first step is to report the abuse to local authorities. It is the local authorities who can give you the immediate help you may need. Local District Attorneys will refer the case to United States Attorneys Office if it is applicable for federal prosecution.

Who can I call for help?

Local authorities will be the first to be able to give you assistance in cases of emergency. The National Domestic Violence Hotline can also refer you to other local community-organized service provider that can help you with your immediate need. They also provide critical information you may need as well as safety planning and crisis intervention.

There are also many non-government organizations that specifically help in victims of domestic violence and abuse. Domestic violence shelters are available to victims who are looking for places to stay to get away from their abusers. Victims and their children are provided with safe houses where the addresses are confidential to protect them if their abusers try to look for them or contact them. Though they can only stay for a limited amount of time, they are provided with the help they need in order to start their lives again, like finding a job.

National Coalition Against Domestic Violence or NCADV is one of the many non-government organizations or NGOs that helps victims of domestic violence and abuse. Other than pushing for policy changes, they also have programs like The Cosmetic and Reconstructive Surgery Program where they provide free cosmetic and reconstructive surgeries to victims who cannot afford it. The surgeries are to help correct physical damages and erase scars left by the abusers.

Domestic abuse and violence is everywhere and it can happen to anyone. You are not alone. If you know anyone who might be a victim, help that person. Know that you can do something about it and you are protected through the domestic violence laws.

No Comments

Misdemeanor DUI for First Time Offenders

In all 50 states, first time offenders arrested for DUI or driving under the influence offences are often charged with misdemeanor DUI which is considered a less serious crime. As a matter of fact, in some states, even if this is not your first time getting charged for DUI, you may still get a lesser charge of misdemeanor DUI as long as long the time interval for the DUI offenses is in years. Some states require that it has to be 5 to 7 years interval while some states may require less time interval. Check your state laws but it is simply better to just not drive when you have had one too many drinks because even misdemeanor DUI charges have some hefty punishments.

Fines and Probation
Since misdemeanor DUI charges are considered lesser crime to felony DUI, it does not carry prison time punishments. The punishment for first time offenders of misdemeanor DUI is usually just fines and probation. The amount of the fine is decided by the court but can range from $1,000 to $5,000. If damages to property, private or public, are made, then the fines may become more expensive. Probation may include community service and attending an alcohol education program, it will all depend on the court. Your license will also be most likely suspended for a period of time. Here are a few potential penalties for a misdemeanor DUI. Different states implement different laws regarding DUI charges and their corresponding punishment and a lot of times, the judge will have the last say on the severity of punishment that fits your crime.

Exemptions for First Time DUI Offenders
As mentioned earlier in the article, first time offenders of DUI are often charged with a misdemeanor DUI charge but in some cases, a felony DUI is charged because of certain circumstances. These circumstances may include:

  1. Attacking the police in charge – Sometimes, intoxicated people exhibit uncharacteristically violent attitude upon arrest. But if you attack an officer conducting the test to determine if you can be charged with DUI, then unfortunately for you, you will be charged with a felony even if it is the first time for you.
  2. If blood alcohol content (BAC) is double the legal limit – The usual legal limit for BAC is .08% in most states, if you are arrested with a BAC of double that, which is .15%, then you can be charged with a felony charge.
  3. Having a minor in car while driving under the influence – If you are driving around while drunk with a minor, it is an immediate ground for a felony DUI.
  4. Death or fatal bodily harm is inflicted on an individual – A lot of DUI cases do not end well. In fact, most road accidents happen when the driver is under the influence while driving. If you are found to be driving under the influence and on top of that, you have caused fatal body harm on another person or death, then a charge automatically becomes a felony DUI.

Driving without license due to suspended license for a previous DUI charge – This is a considered a deliberate disregard for the law so it is immediately considered a felony charge.